Decal Plates Available at the Town Clerk’s Office

The DMV has implemented four decal license plate types:   Decal Passenger plate, Initial Decal Passenger Plate, Veteran Decal Plate and Initial Veteran Decal Plate.  Decal Plates are available for a $15 fee per year in addition to the town and state registration fees. Decal Vanity Plates are also available for an additional $40 vanity plate fee. An additional $8.00 plate manufacturing fee is only required in the first year of purchase. These fees do not included the decal. The actual decals that will be placed on the plates will NOT be issued at the DMV but at an approved 501(c) (3) authority. The fees for the decals are determined by the 501(c) (3) authority and may vary.  For more information please visit the DMV link: https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/dmv/registration/decal-plates.htm

Each decal  passenger plate have  5 characters with a leading “D” for decal plate.  Example: D1200

Each decal veteran plate will have 5 characters with an ending “V” for decal plate .Example: 5000V

Decals can only be placed on a Decal Plate.

 How to obtain a new Decal Plate.  Visit your town clerk’s office to process your registration and receive your plate, and month and year stickers. From there, you may go to your non-profit agency to obtain your decal.

Do you have an existing registration and now want to switch? You can go to a state DMV office and complete a midstream plate change. Cost will be $15 for a new registration, plus the $15 decal plate state fee, and a one-time fee of $8 for the new set of plates. Please bring your current valid registration.

Once you have registered your decal plate, renewals can be performed at the town hall.

The following organizations have been approved by the legislature during the 2017 & 2018 legislative sessions:

  • University of New Hampshire Foundation: Please visit www.unh.edu/licenseplates
  • Firefighter decals: For current or retired firefighters only. Please visit https//nhsfa.org/legislation/
  • NH Rotary: Please visit www.rotary7870.org.
  • The Daniel Webster Council of Boy Scouts of America
  • Granite Pathways
  • The New Hampshire Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Association.
  • Friends of the Hampton Falls Bandstand, Inc
  • Seacoast Youth Services
  • New Hampshire Catholic Charities – all proceeds from decals shall be for the benefit of the New Hampshire Food Bank.   The cost of the set of decals is $30.00 Individuals can purchase the decals through the NH Food Bank website:  nhfoodbank.org.   They can also call 603.669.9725, Ext. 1121.
  • Sophia’s Fund
  • The New England Patriots Charitable Foundation, Inc.
  • The New Hampshire Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Association
  • The New Hampshire Breast Cancer Coalition
  • New England Donor Services, Inc.
  • The University System of New Hampshire – Granite state college, Keene state college, and Plymouth state university: all proceeds shall remain with the issuing institution and be used only for student scholarships.  The cost of the Plymouth State University decal will be a $55 minimum annual gift to support scholarships for NH Students. Decals can be purchased online at their website plymouth.edu/licenseplate or on campus in Holmes Alumni House, located at 5 Summer St. Plymouth NH 03264.